Praise From Readers

I thought I’d share some of the awesome comments I’ve received so far from readers who have been in touch with me via email and social media as well as those who reviewed on Amazon and Goodreads. Thank you guys so much, and I’m so glad you’re enjoying!

Also, check out this awesome post from the blog Gymnastica – “5 Reasons You Should Read Finding Our Balance” – my mom commented because she has no chill.

Oh, and before we get to the reviews, I was on Gymcastic this week plugging the book and talking about everything under the sun. Always a ridiculous amount of fun! Listen to the episode here.

Capture.PNG

“With Rio 2016 fast approaching, this YA gymnastics story will enthrall every gymnastics fan and even the most casual observer who tunes in every four years. Lauren completely draws you into the high stakes world of Elite (yes, with a capital E) gymnastics and you’ll want to stick around to see whether Amalia, Ruby, and Emerson’s Olympic dreams come true.” – Jennifer Iacopelli, author of GAME. SET. MATCH.

“I have read this three times since I bought it less than a week ago and this is coming from someone who doesn’t have much time to read anymore! You don’t need to be a master of gymnastics to understand the lingo and Lauren does a fantastic job explaining what goes on in a gymnast’s mind during the most stressful parts of their career. I felt I was Amalia. I am already anxious for the next book to come out!”

“It didn’t take me long to fall in love with this book. I was hooked from the first chapter, and I binge read for the rest of the day. This book is so well-written, the gymnastics is real and exciting, and the first person perspective is on point. More than that, the main character is totally relatable and believable, something you can’t say about a lot of books these days. I’ll be counting down until the next book!”

“Thank you, Lauren, for a fiction book that deals with real, actual gymnastics. This is a book for fans who know what a shaposh is, who know what connection bonuses are. This is not for the casual fan who only watches gymnastics during the Olympics, and thank God for that. This is what we hardcore fans have been waiting for – a book about the actual goings-on in the lives of elite gymnasts in the US. I read this in one sitting and cannot wait for the second and third books.”

“Easy and very enjoyable read. It was refreshing to finally read a fictional gymnastics book by someone with a ton of knowledge on the sport. I cannot wait for the next book in this series to be released (now please)! Congratulations to the author on a wonderful book!”

“I adored this book. I am a connoisseur of gymnastics books, and this one is unlike any I have ever read. Even it I wasn’t a rabid gymnastics fan, I would still have devoured this book in mere hours. Never have real life and the bizarre world of elite gymnastics been so seamlessly intertwined. I can only hope that this gets the movie treatment soon!”

“What a fantastic book! Beautifully written characters to hilarious tv references. This book is well worth a read for gymnastics fans and readers of all ages!”

“I read it all in one sitting! Really terrific and fun and well written. SO impressive!”

“I read almost all YA and yours belongs right up there with the best YA writers. I would say your actual writing is better than most, actually.”

“LOVING THE BOOK! It’s a perfect 10.”

“I am in awe of you. I just finished the book…you’re a rock star! I can’t believe you wrote something so good, while working full time AND running the Gymternet. Wow, just wow.”

“I haven’t devoured a book like that in a very, very long time. HUGE shout out and thank you to Lauren Hopkins for that fabulous distraction from college finals. It was a truly captivating read, and I can’t wait for the rest of the trilogy!”

“Dammit Lauren! Why you gotta be such a good writer? I legit just stayed up until 3 am reading your book because I legit couldn’t stop. And I have work in the morning!”

“I’m so happy you decided to go with first person for the narrator. It works so well and really fits the story. Also found it surprisingly relatable! I feel like athletes aren’t often written well especially by people who haven’t experienced that national or international level of competition and I was glad to see you did it absolute justice. I also grew attached to the characters super quickly so that was well done as well.”

“Your book is so good! I knew the gym stuff would be on point but your writing and characterization were so good too! It isn’t just a great gym book. It’s well written, funny, and interesting. I’m in absolute awe and can’t wait for your next book.”

“I finished your book yesterday and I am DYING for the next one!! Your book is MILES ahead of every other YA novel and it’s honestly the best I’ve read in a while! Thank you so much for your writing!”

“So what I said about reading it during downtime…I might have just kept going. I LOVE IT. GIVE ME MORE!!! Girl, you are a great writer! Of course, that isn’t surprising, your articles are always well written! But fiction is another beast entirely. I know…I’ve tried. I can’t wait for the rest of the books and I had to tell you how amazing this one is!! Congrats lady! This is awesome!”

 

Leave a comment